Augusta ’08

Every year my small quilt group (WISQ), and extended family and friends, goes on a quilt retreat. It’s been going on for quite a few years. (Someone who’s been in the group longer than I have will have to comment on exactly how long.) It started out at Gallagher’s Retreat House in Gibbon, Minnesota. It’s a lovely facility consisting of an old home with lots of character and a separate sewing space with a loft above it. I was able to join the group there for several years and had a fantastic time. Even though everyone enjoyed the summer retreats in Gibbon, we eventually came to the conclusion that we needed a change.

After reading lots of pamphlets and visiting numerous websites, Mary Beth and Karen went out on a scouting mission. They checked out Bridge Creek Cottage in Augusta, Wisconsin. Trusting their raving recommendation, we booked the cottage for a four-day retreat last summer. They were right – it’s a fabulous place. We loved it so much that we returned again this year from August 4 -7. I’m just now coming down from the high of four days of sewing and quilting fellowship.

We started out bright and early Monday morning leaving Minneapolis for our first destination in Hudson, Wisconsin. It’s one of our favorite quilt shops called Sew Little Time. After everyone made sure they had all the fabric they needed – and wanted – we continued on to Menomonie where we had lunch at the Green Mill.

Bridge Creek Cottage

Bridge Creek Cottage

The next leg took us to Weaver’s Country Store in Falls Creek. It’s a neat store that stocks all kinds of bulk food and spices. A visit to this place is really a shopping adventure. From there it was a short trip to the Bridge Creek Cottage. We had arrived.

It didn’t take long for everyone to unpack and set up their sewing spaces. Soon we were being seranaded by the whirring of our sewing machines. Ahhhh! That magic sound. There’s nothing like it to wash away the stress of life. Among lots of talking, music, and laughter we were able to complete many beautiful quilt projects. Here’s what I was able to accomplish.

Black and White "Two-For"s

I started by making two black, white, and red table runners. I used a great pattern by Pieced Tree called Two-For. After piecing some strips and cutting them into triangles, you’re able to make two runners at once. It was fun and easy. I loved the black and white fabric I picked for the runners so much that I bought extra for a pillowcase. Then I completed a blue flowered one with a completely opposite feel. I love it just as much, but in a different way. Nothing can quite compete with my black and white obsession!

I moved on to sewing a binding on my Jo’s Little Women quilt. I decided to match the binding fabric to the border. I’m happy with that decision, since it’s such a busy little quilt.

Isn't it cute?

Another small project I tackled was a braid quilt-as-you-sew runner, called Mini Braid. It’s part of a 3 piece pattern called Quiltie Trio by G. E. Design. It was very satisfying to piece, quilt and bind it in a little over an hour.

After the success of completing some small projects, I decided to tackle my Amadeus quilt (a Miss Rosies Pattern made from the Moda fabric line called Vienna Nights) which was on the five-year plan. I had taken it to several other retreats and intended to finish it before I went went home from this retreat. I did it. I finished it (the top anyway) and I figured out by looking at the date on the pattern that it only took me four years instead of five. Not bad.

Amadeus Quilt on the 4-Year Plan

Amadeus Quilt on the 4-Year Plan

3 Responses to “Augusta ’08”

  1. Bradie Says:

    I just love that line of Moda fabrics! I’ve made a wallhanging from the charm squares pack of that same line. I really like how yours turned out even if it did take a while! Better late than never right? LOL
    Bradie

  2. Keisha Says:

    What a fun time we all had!! Great summary of the week. I also posted some pictures to my blog if you want to take a peek – http://kzerwas.blogspot.com/2008/08/augusta-quilt-retreat-aug-4-7.html
    ~Keisha

  3. Mary Says:

    It was a wonderful week. Now I have to get busy and quilt those pieces! See you all next year

Leave a Reply

