“Is My Grandbaby a Boy or a Girl?” Runners for Jon and Kate

August is a wonderful month of anticipation for me and my family.  My first grandchild is arriving in early September and I’m beside myself with delight.  

My son Jon and daughter-in-law Kate (I know, Jon and Kate, not the famous ones) decided not to find out the sex of the baby, wanting to be surprised when the big day comes.  Since Kate loves table runners, I decided to make her a pair, one pink and one blue. I call these “Is My Grandbaby a Boy or a Girl?” table runners.  

This Tuesday,  we all went shopping for a stroller for Baby S.  So it was the perfect opportunity to give Kate the table runners.  

Here’s the pink one:

IMG_9246

Here’s the blue one:

IMG_9247

I found a cute backing fabric that says “I love mommy” and”I love daddy” all over it.

IMG_9248

So, is my grandbaby a boy or a girl?

IMG_9251

I’ll find out soon . . . . . .

The pattern I used was a free one from Timeless Treasures.  It’s called Easy Striped Table Runner by Karen Montgomery.  I was going to include a link, so you could find it but in the last week or so they have taken it off their website and it is now available for purchase at the Quilt Company.

Bummer – when I printed this pattern out at the beginning of August my printer ink was in short supply so my copy is not pretty.  I planned to print out a new one.  Not now.  

Putting these together was so slick and easy.  Just six short seams and the top is done.  Cutting is a little tricky, but not bad.  (I’ll post photos and instructions soon, so keep an eye out for it if you’re interested. )

Here’s a photo of the happy couple with their new stroller:

IMG_9236

Grandpa S had to thoroughly check it out and it passed his inspection.  Shew!

IMG_9234

 

This is all so much fun.  I can hardly wait to meet my grandbaby.  A child brings so much love.  I guess that’s why they are called “a bundle of joy.”

Love you Jon and Kate.  (You’re my favorite daughter-in-law.)  🙂

2 Responses to ““Is My Grandbaby a Boy or a Girl?” Runners for Jon and Kate”

  1. betsy Says:

    cute runners

  2. Heidi Says:

    Having read this I thought it was really informative.

    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this content together.
    I once again find myself personally spending way too
    much time both reading and leaving comments. But so what,
    it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

