Henry’s Square Dance Quilt

I’m finally starting a quilt for my grandson that I’ve been planning for a while.  The pattern is Tessellating Pinwheels from the book Square Dance: Fancy Quilts from Plain Squares by Martha Thompson.  I believe the book is out of print, but my friend Deb loaned me hers.  You can buy it on Amazon, but whew, it’s a bit pricey.

Maybe you want to quilt along with me.  You pick your color palette. The sample in the book uses brights.   I’m doing black and white.  The finished size is 44 in square.  I’m not a big fan of square quilts so I’m altering mine a bit.

Start by cutting out 49 – 6 in squares.

Sew them into 7 rows of 7 blocks.  (I only have 4 rows done so far.)

I’m cutting 56 blocks and sewing them into 8 rows of 7.   I’ll let you know if this works.  I’m attempting to use 56 different fabrics.  I don’t have all 56 yet.  ( I know, my friends are thinking, Jan has to have at least 56 black and white fabrics!)  I may have to break down and use duplicates.  I’m going out for one more shopping day tomorrow to see how many more I can hunt down.

As you can see from the photo, I’m trying to use a variety of shapes and sizes in my prints.  I’m loving some of the large prints.

So quilt along if you like, or check on my progress.  I’ll continue to post photos as I go.  This is going to be sooooo much fun.

Leave a Reply

