Katie’s Baby Quilt

I spent yesterday piecing a baby quilt for my neighbor’s daughter.  It was fun but a little scary because I didn’t use a pattern.  I had to rely on my own calculations and sense of design.  I’ll admit it wasn’t complicated, but it turned out to my satisfaction.

I cut squares out and then surrounded them in different colored sashings.  The sashing colors match colored squares she painted on the wall in her nursery.  The centers have letters of the alphabet which is appropriate since she’s a teacher.

The baby is due in the next week.  So now I have to hurry to pick a pantograph and get it quilted.  I’m using red minkee on the back.

We’ll find out soon if it’s a girl or a boy.  I hope she likes the quilt.

Leave a Reply

