Longarm Practice

I volunteered to quilt two of our WISQ charity quilts.  I’m working on the first one.

I chose some thread that blended pretty well.

. .  and  a pantograph called Celebrate.

This pattern is a little tricky.  You can see that it’s kind of in a wave instead of straight across.  It’s pretty fast though.  I should be able to finish this tonight.

2 Responses to “Longarm Practice”

  1. Paula Says:

    what type of long arm quilting machine do you use? Was it easy to learn how to quilt? I’m interested in learning more about long arm quilting machines, but I don’t know what to buy. In addition, they are extremely expensive. Any advice?

    • Jan Says:

      I have an APQS Millenium. It was a used model from around 2002. I did a lot of internet research before I bought. I’d suggest that. You can look for used machines on the APQS forum: http://www.apqs.com/quiltboard/forumdisplay.php?fid=31. They also have other forums where you can ask experienced quilters questions. I think the HQ system seems good for a smaller model. I also tried a Gammill at the MN Quilters Show with a computer and it was really nice. Not too pricey. Maybe around $12,000 if I remember right. Where do you live? If it’s in Minnesota you can visit. Good luck on your dream.

Leave a Reply

